Text Size:

Current Size: 100%

EAAC Recommendations on the Accessibility of NG9-1-1

March 2013 — The Emergency Access Advisory Committee (EAAC) released a report entitled EAAC Working Group 3 Recommendations on Current 9-1-1 and Next-Generation 9-1-1: Media Communication Line Services Used to Ensure Effective Communication with Callers with Disabilities. The document discusses EAAC recommendations to the Federal Communications Commission (FCC), U.S Department of Transportation (DOT) and the U.S. Department of Justice (DOJ) on implementing the necessary tools and procedures that can ensure accessibility of emergency services and communications to individuals with disabilities. The EAAC recommends that Public Safety Answering Points (PSAPS) utilize sign language interpreters and communication assistants who complete standard training to meet specific qualifications in handling 9-1-1 calls. In addition, the implementation of independent, certified Media Communication Line Services (MCLS) centers is encouraged, as an extension of the translation service provided to individuals with disabilities during NG9-1-1 calls. Standard operating protocols and technical standards for MCLS and PSAPs is encouraged along with quality assurance guidelines. To support these services, consumer outreach and education programs are also recommended by the EAAC.      

Additional Information


  • National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research logo
  • Center for Advanced Communications Policy logo
  • Georgia Institute of Technology logo
  •  Shepherd Center Logo

500 10th Street NW, Atlanta, Georgia 30332-0620 | 404-3854614 | Contact Us

The Rehabilitation Engineering Research Center for Wireless Technologies is sponsored by the National Institute on Disability, Independent Living, and Rehabilitation Research (NIDILRR) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services under grant number 90RE5007-01-00. The opinions contained in this website are those of the Wireless RERC and do not necessarily reflect those of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services or NIDILRR.