Text Size:

Current Size: 100%

FCC Chairman Awards Accessibility Innovators

June 2014 – Federal Communications Commissioner, Tom Wheeler, presented the 3rd Annual Awards for Advancement in Accessibility (Chairman’s AAA) at the 2014 M-Enabling Summit in Arlington, Virginia. These are honorary awards given to innovators that develop communication technologies for people with disabilities. The Chairman’s AAA falls under the FCC’s Accessibility and Innovation Initiative and is awarded to both the private and public sector. The awards were chosen out of the following seven categories: Employment Opportunities, Closed Captions, Mobile Web Browsers, Advanced Communication Services (ACS), Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities, Social Media and Video Description. Chairman Wheeler stated, ““The potential of broadband-enabled technology to improve the lives of Americans living with disabilities is almost limitless -- but only if that technology is accessible. I’m glad that these awards can help spark the development of new and creative technologies that furthers the important goal of making communications accessible for all Americans.” For a complete list of winner, please click the link below.

Additional Information


  • National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research logo
  • Center for Advanced Communications Policy logo
  • Georgia Institute of Technology logo
  •  Shepherd Center Logo

500 10th Street NW, Atlanta, Georgia 30332-0620 | 404-3854614 | Contact Us

The Rehabilitation Engineering Research Center for Wireless Technologies is sponsored by the National Institute on Disability, Independent Living, and Rehabilitation Research (NIDILRR) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services under grant number 90RE5007-01-00. The opinions contained in this website are those of the Wireless RERC and do not necessarily reflect those of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services or NIDILRR.