Text Size:

Current Size: 100%

President Honors Champions of Change

October 2014 – In recognition of National Disability Employment Awareness Month, the Obama Administration honored 10 Champions of Change recipients for their dedication to the employment of individuals with disabilities. Earlier this month in a Presidential Proclamation, President Obama pledged to combat employment discrimination and recognize those who demonstrate a commitment to diversity and accessibility in the American workforce. The areas of influence for each honoree are broad, ranging from entrepreneurship to workplace accessibility.

Among the Champions of Change honorees in the technology field, Microsoft Senior Director Jenny Lay-Flurrie is one of the leaders of the company’s Trusted Experiences Team (TExT). TExT focuses on accessibility, privacy, and online safety.

Another recipient is Tim Springer, Founder and CEO of SSB BART Group. SSB Bart Group has provided digital accessibility compliance solutions for industry, government, and educational institutions. Under Tim’s leadership, the company has taken a directive to ensure digital technology complies with regulatory standards, also empowering individuals with disabilities.

For a list of Champions of Change recipients and additional information, please click the link below.

Additional Information


  • National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research logo
  • Center for Advanced Communications Policy logo
  • Georgia Institute of Technology logo
  •  Shepherd Center Logo

500 10th Street NW, Atlanta, Georgia 30332-0620 | 404-3854614 | Contact Us

The Rehabilitation Engineering Research Center for Wireless Technologies is sponsored by the National Institute on Disability, Independent Living, and Rehabilitation Research (NIDILRR) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services under grant number 90RE5007-01-00. The opinions contained in this website are those of the Wireless RERC and do not necessarily reflect those of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services or NIDILRR.